The FCA Foundation Zips Around College Campuses

The "FCA" in the FCA Foundation is short for Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, and that starts to tell you what you need to know about this foundation's support of cars and college campuses.

The foundation, previously called the Chrysler Foundation, was established in 1953, and has since distributed more than $500 million in grants. Positioning itself in today’s world of philanthropy, the foundation states that it exists to "help empower people, and build strong, viable communities."

Education is one of its focus areas of empowerment and building, and this is a foundation that dedicates itself to higher education. A lot of those dollars go towards "car education." This includes supporting automotive programs on community college, four-year college, and university campuses. It also includes supporting car building, racing, technology, and engineering, primarily through the foundation's support of Formula SAE Programs and motorsports challenges at college campuses throughout the country.

And it really is support throughout the country. Though generally speaking this foundation focuses on communities where it has corporate operations, its car education extends far further. Here's a recent roadtrip of giving for its giving in support of car education:

  • Arizona: Glendale Community College in Glendale
  • California: Cerritos College in Norwalk
  • Colorado: Araphoe Community College in Littleton
  • District of Columbia: Howard University
  • Florida: Sheridan Technical College in Hollywood
  • Georgia: Gwinnett Technical College in Lawrenceville
  • Illinois: Moraine Valley Community College in Palos Hills
  • Indiana: Unversity of Notre Dame in South Bend
  • Iowa: Des Moines Area Community College in Ankeny
  • Massachusetts: MassBay Community College in Wellesley Hills
  • Michigan: University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • Minnesota: Dunwoody College of Technology in Minneapolis
  • Mississippi: Northwest Mississippi Community College in Senatobia
  • Nebraska: Southeast Community College in Milford
  • New Hampshire: Dartmouth College in Hanover
  • New Jersey: Mercer Community College in Trenton
  • New Mexico: San Juan College in Farmington
  • North Carolina: North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University in Greensboro
  • Ohio: Sinclair Community College in Dayton
  • Oklahoma: Oklahoma State University in Okmulgee
  • Oregon: Mt. Hood Community College in Gresham
  • Pennsylvania: Community College of Allegheny County in Oakdale
  • Texas: San Jacinto College in LaPorte
  • Utah: Weber State University in Ogden
  • Washington: Shoreline Community College in Shoreline
  • Wisconsin: Milwaukee Area Technical College in Milwaukee


FCA Foundation: Grants for Higher Education